Headfield CE Junior School

Governing body

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children's education.

Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards.

The role of the governing body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. Governors are supported by the Local Authority who provides information and regular training.

The governing body's responsibilities are to:

  • Ensure high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school.
  • Help set the school's vision and aims.
  • Review and agree policies that the school has written
  • Help the school make good use of resources.
  • Monitor the school's performance.
  • Provide support and challenge to the Headteacher in managing the school.

Governors can be contacted via the school office.

Full governing body meetings at Headfield are held once every half term as are Finance Committee meetings and Standards and Pupils Committee meetings.

I'm currently in my 16th year of teaching and have worked at Headfield since 2004, spending the vast majority of my time working in upper Key Stage 2. As part of the senior leadership team I wanted to become more involved in the wider life of the school by becoming a staff governor.

Mr Steve Lee | Staff governor. 

School Governors

  • The school has 7 governors.
  • The Chair of Governors is Mrs Debra Allen
  • The Vice-Chair of Governors is Mrs Sharon Parker
  • The Clerk to the Governing Body is to be confirmed

Address for correspondence:

Chair of Governors
c/o Headfield C E (C) Junior School
Vicarage Road
Thornhill Lees
WF12 9PD

The Governors & their responsibilities are:

LEA Governor

Mr Toseef Hussain 

Staff Dismissals Committee, Standards & Effectiveness Committee, Science & Computing, Headteacher Appraisal Committee & Premium Link Governor.

Foundation Governor

Mrs Debra Allen


Standards & Effectiveness Committee, Finance & Resources Committee, Appeals Committee, Maths, Art, Music & SEND Governor.

 Foundation Governor

Mrs Sharon Parker

SIAMS, Literacy & RE, Head Teacher Appraisal Committee, Standards & Effectiveness Committee, Resources Committee & Staff Dismissals Committee.

Staff Governor

Mr Steve Lee

Resources Committee, PHSE & French.


Co-opted Governor

Mrs Shazia Rasheed

Standards and Effectiveness Committee,  Headteacher Performance Management Committee & Appeals Committee.

Safeguarding & Child Protection Governor

Parent Governor

Mr Muhammad Kamran



Mrs Louise Brown

Governor Training Opportunities, Standards & Effectiveness Committee & Resources Committee.

Declaration of Business Interests. 

  • Mrs Sharon Parker - None recorded - Nil Return - 30.09.19
  • Mrs Debra Allen - None recorded - Nil Return - 30.09.19
  • Mr Steve Lee - None recorded - Nil Return - 30.09.19
  • Mr Toseef Hussain - None Recorded - Nil Return - 25.09.18
  • Mrs Louise Brown- None recorded - Nil Return - 30.09.19
  • Mrs Shazia Rasheed - None recorded - Nil Return - 30.09.19
  • Mr Muhammad Kamran

 Attendance at Full Governors Meetings 


Term of office began

Date of End of Office

5.10.20 30.11.20 25.1.21 1.3.21 24.5.21

Mrs Debra Allen (Chair)



Mrs Sharon Parker (Vice)



Mr Steve Lee



Mr Toseef Hussain



Mrs Louise Brown



Mrs Shazia Rasheed



Mr Muhammad Kamran



Finance Committee Attendees


19.10.20 14.12.20 8.2.21 22.3.21 14.6.21

Mrs Debbie Allen (Chair)

Mr Steve Lee

Mrs Sharon Parker 

Mrs Ann Allen

Mrs Louise Brown

Mrs Emma Kendall(SBM)

Mrs Rebecca Miller (DHT)

Mr Liam Ryan (Site Manager)

Standards and Effectiveness Committee Attendees


12.10.20 7.12.20 1.2.21 15.3.21 12.7.21

Mrs Sharon Parker 

Mr Toseef Hussain 

Mrs Deborah Allen (Chair)

Mrs Shazia Rasheed

Mrs Louise Brown

Mrs Rebecca Miller (DHT)

Head Teacher Appraisal Attendees 


Dates TBC

Mrs Sharon Parker (Chair) 

Mrs Shazia Rashid

Mr Toseef Hussain 

Mrs Louise Brown

Ms Monica Deb (LA)

Governor Allowances Policy

Governor Visits Policy

Governors Code of Conduct